Irie Shack

106-110 Woodville Rd, Cardiff CF24 4EE
$ Caribbean

Reservations

Business Info

  • Address: 106-110 Woodville Rd, Cardiff CF24 4EE
  • Cuisine: Caribbean |
  • Cost: | Very Inexpensive
  • Category: Fast Food
  • Star Rating:
  • Reservations: Recommended
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Meals Served: Dinner | Late |
  • Parking: Street |
  • Payment Options: VISA | Cash | Apple Pay | Google Pay | Debit |
  • Corkage Fee: N/A
  • Phone: 2920 373272
  • Features: Outdoor Seating, Smoking Area, Happy Hours,
  • Occasion: Child Friendly, Dining Alone, Vegetarian, Trendy / Hip, Date Night,

Photos

Business Hours

Reservations Available
Monday
Closed
Tuesday
Closed
Wednesday
Closed
Thursday
Closed
Friday
Closed
Saturday
Closed
Sunday
Closed
False

Customer Reviews & Ratings

4.73 out of 5 stars based on 204 votes

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 9/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Feb 28, 2023
Kim W.
We had a family evening and really enjoyed it, food great, good service, looking forward to the next time

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Jan 31, 2023
Scott G.
Very kind great service great food definitely go again It was me and my girlfriend first time there

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Dec 28, 2022
Ken A.
Really good - totally enjoyed it.

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Oct 15, 2022
Rosalind C.
Fabulous atmosphere and great food ( and cocktails!). Love Irie Shack

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 9/10
Value: 10/10
Aug 07, 2022
Mike B.
Fantastic meal. Food was great, service with a smile. We will be back. Thanks.

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Apr 04, 2022
Gethyn M.
The atmosphere food service and prices were excellent will definitely be returning

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 6/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Jan 03, 2022
Amy S.
Absolutely loved the place, we had a great night. Loved the music, food and atmosphere. Our server was very new and you could tell but it was absolutely fine and everyone has to start somewhere. Will definitely be returning.

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Dec 23, 2021
Andy H.
Love this place. It’s only 5 minutes walk from me. Been a few times. Great food, great value, amazing staff

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Nov 18, 2021
Eleri T.
Lovely staff, tasty food and clean place. Great music too! Also quick and easy to book online :)

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Sep 25, 2021
Charmaine C.
Staff were really helpful and attentive. Great experience will definitely return

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 5/10
Ambience: 5/10
Value: 10/10
Aug 29, 2021
Rhys I.
Gorgeous goat curry but very limited dishes to order and had to order food at the bar the starters came halfway though eating our main felt like a McDonald’s it’s lost it ambiance

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Jul 19, 2021
Debbie W.
My husband and I enjoyed a lovely meal with you. The food was hot, plentiful and tasty. The staff were helpful (and offered advice re sauces). We would definitely recommend and and we too will return soon. Thank you.

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Jun 28, 2021
isabella s.
Excellent service with a smile, great Gluten Free food choices and delicious drinks. Had hoped they accept Bluelight card though. Will definitely go back for happy hour!

Overall: 10/10
Food: 0/10
Service: 0/10
Ambience: 0/10
Value: 0/10
May 05, 2021
Umraj R.
Awful cocktails. Did not bring ketchup to the table and told us to get it ourselves . The staff hate the place themselves. Cocktails were awful. Had one sip and no refund on all 12 UNTOUCHED cocktails. Awful. Please do not go . Manager refused us in person. Food was awful. Please do not go.

Overall: 10/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Apr 30, 2021
Tegan F.
Lovely date night for me and my partner! Amazing food! Had an big food belly after ahah also definitely coming back for cocktail night with the house mates

Overall: 9/10
Food: 8/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 8/10
Value: 9/10
Sep 15, 2022
Delyth E.
Lovely fun place
Business Response:
thank you, we are very happy to see you enjoyed your experience here at the irie shack and we hope to see you again soon.

Overall: 9/10
Food: 9/10
Service: 9/10
Ambience: 8/10
Value: 9/10
Aug 17, 2022
Annette W.
When we arrived it wasn't clear if we should sit and wait for service or order from bar but after the confusion our food arrived it was very good and great value for money we had to ask for salt so it would have been nice to have these available if we wanted, staff are lovely very respectful I will go again.

Overall: 9/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 9/10
Value: 10/10
May 20, 2022
Debbie W.
We were a party of 3, and had pre-booked our table. Our waitress was helpful, polite and happy. The food was delicious and plentiful. We were sat under a flickering light which was annoying / distracting; but that aside all was good. The food was hot, plenty of meat in the chicken dish and delicious. We will return and we will recommend.

Overall: 9/10
Food: 9/10
Service: 9/10
Ambience: 9/10
Value: 10/10
Nov 11, 2021
Darren W.
Great food, great value!

Overall: 9/10
Food: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Jul 26, 2021
Jamira H.
Polite friendly staff food order came quickly tasted delicious

Overall: 8/10
Food: 8/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 8/10
Value: 10/10
Aug 10, 2022
Sian L.
Hi we really loved our visit to Irie Shack. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful. The decor was fab and the reggae music. Only complaint was it was absolutely boiling where we were sitting which prob doesn't happen very often! We really could have been in the Caribbean! We couldn't wait to get outside. In hind site we should have asked to be moved

Overall: 8/10
Food: 9/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 8/10
Nov 15, 2021
Angela K.
The gourmet burger was disappointing for the price and the 2 for 1 cocktails overpriced I had a woo woo and they were so small not great value. Other than that good food lovely staff and relaxed atmosphere.

Overall: 8/10
Food: 7/10
Service: 9/10
Ambience: 9/10
Value: 7/10
Aug 30, 2021
Dillon S.
I would suggest they look at the wings or where they are sourced from. All else was great except these.

Overall: 7/10
Food: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Ambience: 8/10
Value: 5/10
May 16, 2022
Fran L.
Loved the music, the food was nice but not authentic as I would have liked. The cocktails were really bad to be honest, pina colada was nothing like a pina colada, the strawberry daiquiri tasted nothing like strawberries and just like cheap alcohol, the mojito was not great either.

Overall: 7/10
Food: 8/10
Service: 7/10
Ambience: 5/10
Value: 8/10
Apr 17, 2022
Lisa D.
We ordered starters and mains but all came together. Food didn't come together (there were 4 of us) and one of the party was waiting a while. Food was lovely and good value for money. Enjoyed music but could have been just a little quieter as we couldn't hear ourselves talk.
Business Response:
We are glad you enjoyed the food. Unfortunately we dont do starters we only do main and side dishes reason why your food came all together. Please if the music is to loud where you seated please inform a member of staff and we can turn it down by you. thank you for you feedback and we hope to see you again soon :)

Overall: 7/10
Food: 9/10
Service: 7/10
Ambience: 9/10
Value: 9/10
Sep 04, 2021
Laurie K.
The waiting staff were very polite and friendly, however they didn't seem to know much about the menu and drinks on offer. My partner asked for a draught Red Stripe and they responded with 'what's draught?'. We also realised our favourite dish, hot chicken curry, wasn't on the menu, however the waiting staff explained it was on the takeaway menu so we could still order it. When I asked why it wasn't on the dine-in menu they said they didn't know... I don't expect the waiting staff to know everything but it seemed as if they didn't really know what was going on with the food and drink, which did effect our enjoyment of it! Caribbean food is all about love and passion, so the waiting staff need to be demonstrating this through their service.

Overall: 7/10
Food: 6/10
Service: 10/10
Ambience: 10/10
Value: 10/10
May 18, 2021
Janina S.
Overall experience was great. Although the food quality has changes since I came last. The slaw was very bland. It was basic coleslaw with a bit of vinegar. I used to love the one you had before